ANC6b Supports Re-opening of Van Ness Elementary School

ANC6b Supports Re-opening of Van Ness Elementary School

by Larry Janezich and Anna Riehle

Reopening Van Ness Elementary School

At Tuesday night’s ANC6b meeting, newly elected Commissioner Frishberg was able to muscle a proposal supporting reopening of Van Ness Elementary School onto the agenda, over the objections of Commissioners Garrison and Oldenburg.  Garrison objected that the normal approach would be to provide the public with two weeks notice, and wanted an opportunity for it to be considered fully by the entire ANC.  (ANC6b – unlike some other ANCs, currently has no committee to consider education issues.)

Frishburg explained that timing was of essence, given that DCPS has announced that a decision would be made this month.

Councilmemberr Wells’ staffer Naomi Mitchell informed the ANC that Wells supports reopening Van Ness because the student population is expected to return there.  She said DCPS will decide whether to reopen the school, but it will definitely not be this year.  If DCPS considers the financial issues and trade-offs to be too expensive, they may still decide not to go further with this.

Commissioner Pate noted that Brent is oversubscribed, and ANC6b residents would benefit – even though the school in not in ANC6b – because the lottery system is open to residents regardless of ANC.  Commissioner Frishberg said that the success of middle and high schools rely on success of their feeder schools.

The Commission voted to send a letter in support of reopening the school to the DCPS by a vote of 9 – 0 – 1. Those in favor Glick, Campbell, Critchfield, Flahaven, Frishberg, Garrison, Green, Metzger, and Pate.  Abstaining: Oldenburg.

Details on Leadership Contest

The meeting began with election of officers.  The contest for Chair of the ANC proved anti-climactic.  Two nominees emerged: incumbent Carol Green nominated incumbent Commissioner Neil Glick and incumbent Norm Metzger nominated incumbent Kirsten Oldenburg.  Subsequently, Oldenburg withdrew her name, and the roll was called.  Glick – now unopposed – was elected, 7 -3.  Those for:  Glick, Campbell, Critchfield, Flahaven, Frishberg, Green, and Pate.  Those opposed:  Garrison, Metzger, Oldenburg.

Commissioner Pate nominated Commissioner Frishberg for Vice-Chair.  He was unopposed, and was elected 6 – 2 – 2.  Those for:  Glick, Critchfield, Flahaven, Frishberg, Green, and Pate.  Those opposed:  Garrison and Metzger.  Abstaining:  Oldenburg and Campbell.

Commissioner Metzger nominated Jared Critchfield for Secretary and he was elected unanimously.

Chair Glick nominated incumbent Green for Treasurer and she was elected unanimously.

Commissioner Metzger nominated Brian Flahaven for Parliamentarian and he was elected unanimously.

Commettee chairs will be appointed by Chair Glick, and ratified by the Commission at the February ANC meeting.

Glick announced during subsequent remarks that he will be available to meet with community members from 6:30-7:00pm before all ANC meetings

Bavarian Beer Garden Liquor License

As expected, the ANC voted to support a liquor license for Bavarian Beer Garden at their lower 8th Street and L location, contingent on the owner signing a voluntary operating agreement.  The vote was 7-3.  Those for:  Campbell, Critchfield, Flahaven, Frishberg, Green, Oldenburg, and Pate.  Those opposed:  Garrison, Glick, and Metzger.

Eastern Market Information Kiosk

During Community Speakout, Chuck Berger, representing the “Sign Tigers” who support an information kiosk on Eastern Market Metro Plaza, said that his group will discuss the proposals being considered with DDOT and Councilmember Wells’ office, and make a recommendation to DDOT.  He urged those with comments to submit them quickly, since the aforementioned meetings would start later this month.

Comments Off on ANC6b Supports Re-opening of Van Ness Elementary School

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.